Pakistani Bloggers

The Best of Pakistani Blogging

Zong M9 - What's the Real Plan?

www.pakpositive.com

There's something that caught my eye about a recent marketing campaign by a Telecom giant. I studied marketing for four years. It's true that we mostly concentrated on traditional channels of marketing.

It's only recently that I've started seeing a great number of local brands who have taken their marketing to the online platform. I'm sure we have all heard the sales pitch about the benefits of online marketing until now. Indeed it has been getting so repetitive that I can probably write my own version of it.

Recently though there has a been a wave of online marketing used by, you guessed it, Zong. It seems as though everywhere I browse online, something or other by Zong appears; an online advertisement, a Facebook fan page, a leaked commercial or even one of those animations with a stick figure and all.

Naturally, for an ardent web surfer, when this "Zong Mania" started appearing online, I wanted to know what it was. It turns out it was a promotional campaign for one of the packages that they have introduced into the Telecom services market.

Now, I've used Zong only once in my life for about a year. Even then I had happened to hear a number of comments about the network; how the service is bad; problems with voice clarity and other complaints like this. One thing though that I never heard the people complaining about was 'cost'.

It seems as though as far as mobile service providers go, Zong is definitely one of the cheapest. I have used Mobilink for many years as well, before I ultimately shifted to another number altogether. From what I know, Mobilink has been downright one of the most expensive service providers.

I used to charge my prepaid Jazz number almost every other day while Indigo users received the best benefits. That was mostly because there were not many package options to avail for prepaid users!