Pakistani Bloggers

The Best of Pakistani Blogging

Who was Responsible for the Partitioning of India?

www.pakpositive.com I was a student of B.Sc at the time India was partitioned. As a student leader I worked with Quaid-e-Azam as such I know much more than Jaswant Singh as to who was responsible for the partitioning of India.

Firstly one must have a view or study the background that prevailed in 1947 before and thereafter. The masses of India both Hindus and Muslim did not have the strength or guts to throw out the British and snatch freedom from them. The British if they wanted could rule India for another ten years yet they decided as a matter of political foresight to give pre-mature freedom to India. The British had complete authority and power to either give freedom to a united India or to partition it or leave a centralized government or to give autonomy to provinces as mentioned in the cabinet plan. No political party or individual leader could force them to accept their individual plans. Therefore the partition of India was done completely on the will or the whim of the British. Its purpose is clearly stated in the letter written by the British Prime Minister Atlee addressed to Mr. Wavel the Viceroy of India prior to Mountbatten.

The letter says that after ruling India for about 150 years the British have realized that the Hindu community is the most deceitful and conceited community in the whole world (The British Ruled about half the world at the time). The letter further reveals that if the British were to leave behind a united India there was a great possibility of its becoming a super power, and since deceit was in the genes of its people, they were likely to pose a great threat to the west and America. Therefore it was in their interest to partition India so as to have some balance of power in the region. A future map that was attached to Prime Minister Atlee's letter showed the whole of Bangal and whole of Punjab designated as Pakistan.