Pakistani Bloggers

The Best of Pakistani Blogging

Scholarship, can HEC help anymore?

www.pakpositive.com Despite all the critics� voices rising against HEC these days, I would still be in the queue to support HEC in its most of the actions.

Though I am neither a prominent professor nor an education cleric, but my opinion worth. I am a fresh Engineering Graduate from a reputed university of Pakistan. I have passed my Electronics Engineering degree with high academic profile. I am one of those young bloods who dreams to acquire their higher education from any foreign international renowned university. But when the resources are compared with the capital required this dream seems to become an illusion only. The major hope, HEC, is also taking its last breath now.

It was a time when the number of PhDs in Pakistan could be counted on finger tips. I suppose educated persons must thank HEC that it promoted PhD culture in the country. The scholarships were no doubt a great source of inducting and motivating youngsters towards research.

The old Diploma/Clerk mentality was changed by great efforts of Dr. Atta-ur-Rehman. The significance of research was neglected by our all past governments. I surely give credit to Dr. Atta for encouraging students for research work. In this mind war of modern era, we do need intellectuals who can stand in front row.