Pakistani Bloggers

The Best of Pakistani Blogging

Are Government University Students Inferior?

www.pakpositive.com One of the Facebook contacts recently had raised a point about Universities and the labels (stereotyping) attached with the name of institution. Students are evaluated, even without screening/interview, by the institution name attached with them.

As a HR professional I come across such discussions regularly within the circles. Prestigious schools tend to differ themselves from others and can go to extremes that an entire alumni is hired within an organization. Even though I hate stereotyping but the fact is "institution does matter."

I completed by bachelors of engineering from MUET, Jamshoro and was hired in an organization as research engineer. In this organization I worked with graduates from GIKI, NEDUET, NUST, PAF KIET and BCCIFASTT. Yes, there was lot of difference between Government institutions and private institutions. As a HR & Oper manager (in the same engineering firm) the differences are now clearer than ever to me. Below I would highlight my little learning